Responsible Forestry.
Quality Timber

Construction timber

Sawn timber is the general name for wood sawn on at least four sides. End-use areas are building and furniture sector. Depending on the quality of the wood, sawn timber is divided into the following quality classes:

(A1-A4), B, C, D.

In construction, spruce and pine of the maximum moisture content of 16-20%, i.e. dried wood, is primarily used. Our selection includes all most widely used cross-sections.

Approximate quality descriptions of most widely used types of saw timber:

AB (SF) – square-edged timber material, may contain some “black heart”
ABC (PF)  – square-edged timber material, “black heart” and slight discoloration

C (VI) – occasionally slightly beam-edged, some “black heart” and discoloration

D (VII) – beam-edged, discoloured timber material, may contain “black heart”

SCHAAL – beam-edged timber material, may contain “black heart” and slight discoloration

SCHAAL/D – beam-edged, discoloured timber material, may contain “black heart”

ABC/W – beam-edged timber material, some “black heart” and discoloration

The most common sizes of sawn wood/lumber are (mm):

  • 19×50/75/100/125/125/150/175/200
  • 22×50/75/100/125/125/150/175/200
  • 25×50/75/100/125/125/150/175/200
  • 32×50/75/100/125/125/150/175/200
  • 38×50/75/100/125/125/150/175/200
  • 50×50/75/100/125/125/150/175/200
  • 75×75/100/125/125/150/175/200/225/250
  • 100×100/125/125/150/175/200/225/250
  • 125×125/150/175/200/225/250
  • 150×150/175/200/225/250
  • 175×175/200/225/250
  • 200×200/225/250
  • 225X225

The most common length’s are (mm):